Tags

, , , , , ,

Oh, This One….
IMG_0436

I find myself using this phrase when referring to my younger child often. As in…

Oh….THIS one….she is feisty.  Passionate. Kind hearted. This one keeps us on our toes.

IMG_9907

This one….always surprises me with a fierce show of bravery at just the right moment. We’ve made some serious strides in dealing with medical professionals in the last month or two. We finally (FINALLY) stand on the scale without a hysterical shrieking fit. (Yeah, hurts me too) And after a try at a “Happy Visit” to the dentist a few months ago where the girl wouldn’t even open her mouth, today we tried and tried again – after a LOT of coaching (again). She did awesome. She sat still. She opened wide. She handled the tools of the trade, the polish and the varnish. And she even remembered her manners without being prompted when she got to pick a new toothbrush. Mom was very proud! (And relieved)

IMG_3733

This one….never ceases to force me to cover my laugh with my hand (or hands) when she comes up with something inappropriate (generally said in innocence). She has unfortunately picked up a few of Mommy’s excited utterances, and we’re having to work on a nice transition from “Oh My GOD!” to “Oh My Goodness!” But she will also say “It’s okay, Honey” to her babies and shush them to sleep.

This one….is  Ariel-obsessed. She can spot a red-head at twenty paces. Thirty if she has a scaled tail. No matter where we go, she is forever spotting Ariel – “Look MOMMY! A BIG Ariel! I don’t HAVE a BIG Ariel!” “Look Mommy – Ariel has a new dress! Isn’t she pretty?” Maybe she’ll get up enough courage to talk to Santa about Ariel. We should probably start coaching her for that visit now! (She is still a little freaked out by Sal, our elf on the shelf). She asks me to sing Little Mermaid – which means “Part of Your World” followed by The Crab Song which is really “Under the Sea” and then the fishy one “Les Poissons” (sp?) and the big finish: Kiss the Girl, which she knows the actual name for. The best part is she is learning the words and will start singing along.

This one can cause me to strain my vocal cords yelling in frustration (yeah, not all kittens and rainbows) and ten minutes later after laying absolutely quiet and still for five minutes in her bed, reach over and touch my cheek and whisper “I love you, Mama”. (Yeah, they make ‘em cute so they survive!)