Tags

, , ,

20121209-073442.jpg

Joey came in this morning very serious. “Mom, I had a dream last night. It was kind of a bad one.”

He tells me he and his dad needed to dig a hole and were looking for a knife and couldn’t find one. (So many layers and questions here it is hard to continue….lol)

He tells me they had to go to the store. They get there and he isn’t sure why but Dad had to go to the bathroom. (I love that: I am forever not knowing why something is going on in my head. But Dad always has to go to the bathroom when we are out so this one just amuses me). In any event, he says he lost his Dad. This of course does not amuse me. It was a treadmill store with big screens and he says that Sal (our elf) was up on all the screens saying ‘Stop that!’ and ‘No!’ and he was pretty upset. He then tells me the store manager told him he’d never see Sal again.

Sniff.

He never told me if he found his Dad or not. But we did talk about how dreams can be very strange and even upsetting and sometimes the thoughts and memories from your day can get tangled up in your head and come out weird. (Yep, that’s an official assessment).

For example:

Joey wanted to use a knife for a project yesterday. We had a discussion he wasn’t entirely happy with.

Joey walked (hiked) on mom’s treadmill. Sal of course was a topic of discussion. And, while we were visiting Santa with friends, one of his friends got lost and we had a brief (thankfully) panic finding him.

The good news is Sal came back this morning.

20121209-075520.jpg

20121209-075657.jpg